Home Real Estate Appraisals Brokerage Revaluation Services Order an Appraisal Staff Profiles

rightMAI designation 

The MAI membership designation is held by appraisers who are experienced in the valuation and evaluation of commercial, industrial, residential and other types of properties, and who advise clients on real estate investment decisions.

The current requirements for the MAI designation are:

  • Pass rigorous education requirements
  • Pass a final comprehensive examination
  • Submit specialized experience which must meet strict criteria
  • Receive credit for the demonstration of knowledge requirement
  • Conduct his or her professional activities in accordance with the Appraisal Institute‚Äôs Code of Professional Ethics and are subject to a peer review process, which enforces the Code of Professional Ethics
  • Appraisal Institute MAI Designated members are required to adhere to strict continuing education requirements to ensure they are up-to-date with the evolving real estate field.

Find an MAI Designated member near you!

Learn more about the current requirements to achieve the MAI designation.

Because of its rigorous requirements and commitment to providing valuable information, continuing education and other valuable resources to its members, you can be confident an appraiser with an MAI designation will provide you with the very highest quality service on virtually any appraisal assignment, even the most complex commercial appraisal.

As you can see, an MAI designated appraiser has completed a significant amount of education on appraisal issues and has demonstrated a high level of knowledge and skill in the field.  At Shackelford & Associates, we place a very high value on education and we have three MAI Designated Appraisers on staff to offer our clients the highest quality reports.  Call us today if you need an appraisal performed by an MAI Designated Appraiser.